2017 TAG symposium Action Ascription

The TAG group (Brisbane) are organising a symposium on the 23rd of June.

date/time
23rd June. whole day
3 main sessions (morning, lunch, late session)

venue
QUT Kelvin Grove campus
A330 for the symposium from 8.30 to 4.30pm
Arrive at 8:30 for a 9am start.

cost
free

catering
morning tea and a light lunch will be supplied
NUMBERS NEEDED PLEASE
please note any dietary requirements in your confirmation email to
nathaniel.mitchell@griffithuni.edu.au

topic
Action Ascription
Some problems with ascribing activity/action/projects onto data

readings for the day
Stephen C. Levinson, (2012)
, “Action formation and ascription”, In The Handbook of Conversation Analysis (Sidnell, Stivers, eds.), Oxford, U.K., Wiley-Blackwell, no. 103-130.
and
further readings by Sidnell in Language in Society.
(these are just primers for the conversations/discussions we hope to get into)

sessions
two data sessions as bookends to an action ascription discussion in the middle

session 1: 9 – 11am
special guest data session from Lim Ni Eng (Asst Prof). He has mentioned that he has some “fresh off the press” medical data that he will present (Singapore-styled English).

session 2: (plus lunch)

intro: 11:30 – 11:40am
problematic action ascription and some discussion around how to tackle it
two example cases will be presented from different data sets, separated by a light lunch (provided by QUT)

example case 1: 11:40 – 12:20

Lunch 12:20-12:50

example case 2: 12:50-1:30

session 3
: 2 – 4pm
Emma Tennant
‘trouble’ in action ascription from a call to an NZ victim support agency where caller and call taker display different understandings of why a question is asked and what level of detail is relevant in response.
Post session:
The Menagerie
The social analysis of drinking is a semi-structured beer garden

To confirm attendance, contact
nathaniel.mitchell@griffithuni.edu.au
numbers needed for lunch catering.

thank you to the TAG organising committee for organising this symposium:

Susan Danby <s.danby@qut.edu.au>,
Maryanne Theobald <m.theobald@qut.edu.au>,
Stuart Ekberg <stuart.ekberg@qut.edu.au>,
Katie Ekberg <k.ekberg@uq.edu.au>,
Rod Gardner <r.gardner@uq.edu.au>,
Andrea Lamont-Mills <lamontm@usq.edu.au>,
Ilana Mushin <i.mushin@uq.edu.au>,
Steven Christensen <Steven.Christensen@usq.edu.au>
Nathaniel Mitchell <nathaniel.mitchell@griffithuni.edu.au>,

Special thank you to:

QUT School of Early Childhood, Faculty of Education
Childhoods in Changing Contexts Research Group
Queensland University of Technology
Kelvin Grove Campus
GPO Box 2434,
Brisbane Qld 4001

NOTE: details subject to change

See you there
Nathaniel Mitchell
on behalf of
TAG
and
AIEMCA